Author Topic: Frenzy.py (and THZ.py) Help  (Read 1277 times)

Offline Probably Rob

  • The Forgotten Obscure Orgasmic Mime
  • *
  • Posts: 1941
  • Rep: 10
  • You might want your lips around my silent chorus
    • RobotMPire
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Frenzy.py (and THZ.py) Help
« on: May 20, 2013, 06:16:03 PM »
After trying to do a Frenzy.py AI'd robot for the first time, it seems to fly around randomly.

The robot has an axe, on a motor, and I've done 'whipzone' along with 'Hammer', yet in-game when you drive slightly up to it, it decides to fly around without stopping.

Can I possibly have any help, in trying to make it work correctly?


Thank you.

Offline MassimoV

  • I Move Weight
  • *
  • Posts: 8929
  • Rep: 24
  • I make rap for people of Serbia
    • MassimoVTV
  • Awards BOTM Winner
    • View Profile
    • Mourning Glory
    • Awards
  • See profile for gamer tags: Yes
  • Skype: myhandsarefood
Re: Frenzy.py (and THZ.py) Help
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2013, 06:28:37 PM »
As in havok explosion of it just keeps firing?

Offline Probably Rob

  • The Forgotten Obscure Orgasmic Mime
  • *
  • Posts: 1941
  • Rep: 10
  • You might want your lips around my silent chorus
    • RobotMPire
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Frenzy.py (and THZ.py) Help
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2013, 06:30:27 PM »
Nah, no havoks, but yes, keeps firing/swinging. That's what I meant by flying, hah.

Offline MassimoV

  • I Move Weight
  • *
  • Posts: 8929
  • Rep: 24
  • I make rap for people of Serbia
    • MassimoVTV
  • Awards BOTM Winner
    • View Profile
    • Mourning Glory
    • Awards
  • See profile for gamer tags: Yes
  • Skype: myhandsarefood
Re: Frenzy.py (and THZ.py) Help
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2013, 06:43:25 PM »
Did you copy and paste a bindings line from another bot?

Offline MassimoV

  • I Move Weight
  • *
  • Posts: 8929
  • Rep: 24
  • I make rap for people of Serbia
    • MassimoVTV
  • Awards BOTM Winner
    • View Profile
    • Mourning Glory
    • Awards
  • See profile for gamer tags: Yes
  • Skype: myhandsarefood
Re: Frenzy.py (and THZ.py) Help
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2013, 06:44:56 PM »
Same thing happen with THZ?

Offline Probably Rob

  • The Forgotten Obscure Orgasmic Mime
  • *
  • Posts: 1941
  • Rep: 10
  • You might want your lips around my silent chorus
    • RobotMPire
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Frenzy.py (and THZ.py) Help
« Reply #5 on: May 20, 2013, 06:50:07 PM »
Repost:

Should mention that I'm doing this in DSL 3.



    list.append( ("[name]", "Frenzy", { 'nose' : math.pi, 'radius' : 1.4, 'topspeed' : 12.0, 'throttle' : 120, 'turn' : 20, 'turnspeed' : 1.0, 'weapons' : (15, 39) }) )


Update:

After some testing, THZ seems to work when it's AI vs AI, but still flies (firing, not havoking) when self-righting.


Is it because it's specifically made for something, like a Hammer motor, and that Overkill motor?

Offline Resetti's Replicas

  • *
  • Posts: 4399
  • Rep: 18
  • Replica King
    • ResettisReplicas
  • Awards BOTM Winner
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • See profile for gamer tags: Yes
Re: Frenzy.py (and THZ.py) Help
« Reply #6 on: May 20, 2013, 07:10:13 PM »
ElectricHammer is the binding you want.


Bots AI'd with THz and FrenZy use a special motor that goes in a 180-arc, I don't recommend it, it comes with quite a lot of havok issues.

Offline Probably Rob

  • The Forgotten Obscure Orgasmic Mime
  • *
  • Posts: 1941
  • Rep: 10
  • You might want your lips around my silent chorus
    • RobotMPire
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Frenzy.py (and THZ.py) Help
« Reply #7 on: May 20, 2013, 07:15:16 PM »
ElectricHammer is the binding you want.

Ah, cheers man!


Quote
Bots AI'd with THz and FrenZy use a special motor that goes in a 180-arc, I don't recommend it, it comes with quite a lot of havok issues.

Oh, Jesus, don't I know it! The amount of recording issues I have with freakin' Terrorhurtz, hah.

Offline Badnik96

  • tired of your shit
  • *
  • Posts: 17537
  • Rep: 3
    • Badnik96GTM
  • Awards BOTM Winner
    • View Profile
    • BattleBots Wiki
    • Awards
  • See profile for gamer tags: Yes
  • Skype: Badnik96
Re: Frenzy.py (and THZ.py) Help
« Reply #8 on: May 20, 2013, 07:15:57 PM »
I remember trying to AI Scrap's Diesector replica with Frenzy.py, it did not end well at all.

Offline martymidget

  • *
  • Posts: 3459
  • Rep: 7
  • Mr Flibble is very cross.
    • http://tts.imtranslator.n
    • View Profile
    • :)
    • Awards
Re: Frenzy.py (and THZ.py) Help
« Reply #9 on: May 22, 2013, 10:31:55 AM »
Okay guys, little old me has gotten rusty with adding bits to AI lines.

This probably concerns the same bot :P

Code: [Select]
list.append(("[name]","ElectricHammer",{'SwingTime':4,'nose':math.pi','StartAngle':math.pi,'NoChassisTime':4,'range':99,'radius':0.1,'topspeed':100,'throttle':130,'turn':60,'turnspeed':3,'weapons':(18,19)}))
4 spaces, blargh blargh, definitely the AI line because I #'d it and the game worked fine like that. Just want to get it fixed before the tweaking occurs to maximise performance.

Offline Probably Rob

  • The Forgotten Obscure Orgasmic Mime
  • *
  • Posts: 1941
  • Rep: 10
  • You might want your lips around my silent chorus
    • RobotMPire
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Frenzy.py (and THZ.py) Help
« Reply #10 on: May 22, 2013, 10:47:36 AM »
I spaced them correctly for DSL 3; it crashes the game.

Offline martymidget

  • *
  • Posts: 3459
  • Rep: 7
  • Mr Flibble is very cross.
    • http://tts.imtranslator.n
    • View Profile
    • :)
    • Awards
Re: Frenzy.py (and THZ.py) Help
« Reply #11 on: May 22, 2013, 11:12:00 AM »
I spaced them correctly for DSL 3; it crashes the game.

Nah, that shouldn't be the problem, I've got other bots in DSL3 that I've AI'd with a similar spacing and they're fine. Though it might just be one comma in the wrong place or something silly like that I haven't picked up on. Normally is.

Offline Probably Rob

  • The Forgotten Obscure Orgasmic Mime
  • *
  • Posts: 1941
  • Rep: 10
  • You might want your lips around my silent chorus
    • RobotMPire
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Frenzy.py (and THZ.py) Help
« Reply #12 on: May 22, 2013, 11:45:42 AM »
Apologies. It's because I seemed to accidentally deleted a closed bracket after the 'weapons'.  :gawe: