Author Topic: Wedge testing: What's under RA2's best wedges?  (Read 6163 times)

Offline kill343gs

Wedge testing: What's under RA2's best wedges?
« on: August 10, 2009, 01:13:07 PM »
I don't know about you, but I've always wondered what made wedges like Neglected Waterbug's or Rabid Pit Bull's so much better than the ones on my bots. Well, we know that a lot of factors can affect wedges, and many theories exist as to what makes some wedges better than others. But there is very little hard evidence other than people's personal experience in the bot lab and the arena. Well, I'm going to take a look at all of these factors and lay it all out on the table for everyone to see. If anyone sees an issue with something I've posted here or has something to add please let us know.

I'm no expert on wedges or really anything having to do with RA2 when compared to some members of our community (I'm an average builder at best,) so basically this is a learning experience for me as well. I know Clickbeetle has tested a few of these things himself in the RA2 Mythbusters thread, but I'm going to attempt to cover all of the bases in this instance.

Part One: The Wedge Component

So the first thing that comes to mind when working with wedges is the wedge components themselves, and that is the first thing I tested. I used the same robot for all of these tests, changing only the extenders and the wedge itself. Here is the bot:

I tested 4 different wedge bot setups:
 1. A small wedge
 2. Chassis wedge with ballasts (the snapper and all extenders were removed to make room for ballasts. This is the only bot where a motor was moved.)
 3. An Emergency wedge
 4. A bracket wedge

Results indicate that just as expected, the small wedge easily gets under all of the other wedges. The next best was the Emergency wedge, which got under both the ballast and the bracket wedges. Third was the ballast and finally the bracket wedge.

Part Two: The Mounting Motor