Author Topic: R01's Showcase Thread  (Read 14872 times)

Offline R01

  • Heavyweight
  • Posts: 771
  • Rep: 1
    • View Profile
    • Awards
R01's Showcase Thread
« on: April 19, 2016, 11:25:34 AM »
I'll be adding links to the post where I post new robots to make this easier to navigate here:

July 2016:
https://gametechmods.com/forums/index.php?topic=18882.msg706199#msg706199
https://gametechmods.com/forums/index.php?topic=18882.msg705997#msg705997
https://gametechmods.com/forums/index.php?topic=18882.msg705607#msg705607
old:


Old stuff:
« Last Edit: July 29, 2016, 01:57:21 PM by R01 »
Tournament History:
Showcases:
https://gametechmods.com/forums/index.php?topic=18882.0
https://gametechmods.com/forums/index.php?topic=19197.0

Offline Sage

  • *
  • Posts: 6200
  • Rep: 10
  • RA2 Wizard & GTM's Favorite Stock Builder 2015
  • Awards Sage's Favorite BOTM Winner
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: R01's Showcase Thread
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2016, 12:55:21 PM »
What a crazy design. I love it. Obviously it's completely outside of the meta but still, very cool.

I'm excited to see where your innovation takes you as your building skill improves.
You got my vote for RA2 Wizard. Always and forever.

Offline R01

  • Heavyweight
  • Posts: 771
  • Rep: 1
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: R01's Showcase Thread
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2016, 01:12:07 PM »
What a crazy design. I love it. Obviously it's completely outside of the meta but still, very cool.

I'm excited to see where your innovation takes you as your building skill improves.
Thanks, I wouldn't say it's exactly crazy, just clever thinking on how to recreate something like Firestorm. Will upload my other(less successful) robots as well as some RW recreations later. What do you exactly mean with outside of the meta? As for part clipping, it's something I try to avoid, had the parts placed a bit different on Atomizer 3 before, but changed them around which really helped with self righting from the side.
Tournament History:
Showcases:
https://gametechmods.com/forums/index.php?topic=18882.0
https://gametechmods.com/forums/index.php?topic=19197.0

Offline Sage

  • *
  • Posts: 6200
  • Rep: 10
  • RA2 Wizard & GTM's Favorite Stock Builder 2015
  • Awards Sage's Favorite BOTM Winner
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: R01's Showcase Thread
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2016, 02:42:47 PM »
Meta is just what is competitive in stock RA2. Flippers, especially this style, are not competitive. Also, you're over 100kgs short of the weight limit.
You got my vote for RA2 Wizard. Always and forever.

Offline R01

  • Heavyweight
  • Posts: 771
  • Rep: 1
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: R01's Showcase Thread
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2016, 02:54:55 PM »
Meta is just what is competitive in stock RA2. Flippers, especially this style, are not competitive. Also, you're over 100kgs short of the weight limit.
Since the wiki has no article(and I haven't had the time to browse the forums) I guess that competitive stock flippers aren't allowed and the weight limit is the mediumweight one?
Tournament History:
Showcases:
https://gametechmods.com/forums/index.php?topic=18882.0
https://gametechmods.com/forums/index.php?topic=19197.0

Offline cephalopod

Re: R01's Showcase Thread
« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2016, 02:59:28 PM »
It's not that they're not allowed, they're just not that great.

Offline Sage

  • *
  • Posts: 6200
  • Rep: 10
  • RA2 Wizard & GTM's Favorite Stock Builder 2015
  • Awards Sage's Favorite BOTM Winner
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: R01's Showcase Thread
« Reply #6 on: April 19, 2016, 03:01:54 PM »
There's 3 "official" weight limits - 249.0 is lightweight, 399.0 is middleweight, and 800.0 is heavyweight. Your bot is underweight by a good amount - add more armor, etc to bring it up to the weight limit.

As far as what I mean by competitive, just that flippers tend not to win as much as other bot types (unless the arena has very low walls... but even still). They are definitely allowed.
You got my vote for RA2 Wizard. Always and forever.

Offline R01

  • Heavyweight
  • Posts: 771
  • Rep: 1
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: R01's Showcase Thread
« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2016, 03:13:03 PM »
There's 3 "official" weight limits - 249.0 is lightweight, 399.0 is middleweight, and 800.0 is heavyweight. Your bot is underweight by a good amount - add more armor, etc to bring it up to the weight limit.

As far as what I mean by competitive, just that flippers tend not to win as much as other bot types (unless the arena has very low walls... but even still). They are definitely allowed.
Oh I see(I did know about the weight limits), yeah RA2 isn't exaclty flipper friendly(not only the components, but also the point system, it's either all or nothing) and I do guess that most bots do have srimechs or just drive upside down(althrough I've seen quite a lot without it), as long as the robot can't self right/low arena walls exist or if there's a pit, this thing works completely fine, but that probably isn't the case in all of them.

And yeah it's not 800kg but I don't have any space, also can't think of anything else other than drive motors, guess that will be in version 4. This robot does have steel armor(back then I considered DSA to be cheating) another thing I should change, or well I might just go for one flipper middleweight instead, should be still powerful enough.

-Oh totally forgot this, I do think I once added ballast to test some things which ended up with the robot being unable to self right, so maybe I'm not able to increase the weight unless I add a 3rd flipper.

One problem I do have(main reason why I'd want to have a lifter instead) is that this build is a bit to powerful and sometimes throws robots around in the air, not as controlled as I would've liked it to be, but yeah. I do accept the challenge and will try to win with this thing, even if it means losing a million times :P
Tournament History:
Showcases:
https://gametechmods.com/forums/index.php?topic=18882.0
https://gametechmods.com/forums/index.php?topic=19197.0

Offline R01

  • Heavyweight
  • Posts: 771
  • Rep: 1
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: R01's Showcase Thread
« Reply #8 on: April 20, 2016, 02:50:46 PM »
Added two less successful bots, one built today
Tournament History:
Showcases:
https://gametechmods.com/forums/index.php?topic=18882.0
https://gametechmods.com/forums/index.php?topic=19197.0

Offline Thrackerzod

  • Sparkle up your day!
  • *
  • Posts: 2003
  • Rep: 10
  • The distant future... the year 2000...
  • Awards BOTM Winner
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: R01's Showcase Thread
« Reply #9 on: April 20, 2016, 03:36:27 PM »
Usually with a showcase, you'll want to post your images in your new posts, rather than making people go back to the first post, so we can see the designs without lots of scrolling/page changing.  If you want to keep organized, you could put the images in your posts and also update the OP.

You have some interesting builds.  What are you going for with these?  As in, are you trying to make realistic designs, effective designs, original designs, etc.  If you're going for the more realistic approach, Stock usually isn't the best place for it; DSL or Ironforge are usually more suited for that style of building due to having more options (parts, armors, etc).  I mean, if you're having fun with Stock don't worry about it, of course, but you might want to check those out.

Offline Naryar

  • Posts: 23444
  • Rep: 22
  • Something something baguette manly justice fist
    • http://www.youtube.com/us
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Skype: TheMightyNaryar
Re: R01's Showcase Thread
« Reply #10 on: April 21, 2016, 07:46:00 AM »
why are you using spoilers for bots as well ?

Offline Gauche Suede

  • Ultra Heavyweight
  • Posts: 1220
  • Rep: 1
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: R01's Showcase Thread
« Reply #11 on: April 21, 2016, 07:47:40 AM »
why are you using spoilers for bots as well ?
to make his page load faster ?????

Offline WenXiangLee

  • that wen from doomworld.
  • Posts: 1805
  • Rep: 7
  • Ah s, here we go again.
    • View Profile
    • my blog.
    • Awards
  • Discord: WeN#2505
Re: R01's Showcase Thread
« Reply #12 on: April 21, 2016, 07:49:48 AM »
why are you using spoilers for bots as well ?
to make his page load faster ?????
Why R01? Why? Also, Smasher doe damage?

Offline R01

  • Heavyweight
  • Posts: 771
  • Rep: 1
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: R01's Showcase Thread
« Reply #13 on: April 21, 2016, 11:16:21 AM »
Usually with a showcase, you'll want to post your images in your new posts, rather than making people go back to the first post, so we can see the designs without lots of scrolling/page changing.  If you want to keep organized, you could put the images in your posts and also update the OP.

You have some interesting builds.  What are you going for with these?  As in, are you trying to make realistic designs, effective designs, original designs, etc.  If you're going for the more realistic approach, Stock usually isn't the best place for it; DSL or Ironforge are usually more suited for that style of building due to having more options (parts, armors, etc).  I mean, if you're having fun with Stock don't worry about it, of course, but you might want to check those out.
Oh I see, I'm ok with the way you do it here, but I prefer to have them all in the main thread so people can see all of my bots without having to scroll through many pages. Of course the other way does have some advantages as well(making it easier to see feedback and changes) but I still prefer them all in the thread.
Posting them in both would work, then again I do add a bit of text to each bot and wouldn't like to double post that, would a link to the main post(so people can simply right click -> open in new tab) work?

I'd say semi realistic(yes I know that DSL/Ironforge are made for those, however I'm not that much of a fan of it's more difficult AI and parts) generally trying to avoid clipping, but if it's for some small cases or visually doesn't look like clipping I'll use it. What you'll be seeing here is something that's a bit similar to Stock(except being better) and more RW than Battlebots like.
why are you using spoilers for bots as well ?
I plan to have them all in the main post and have different sections, wouldn't want people to scroll for a very long time until they're past the first post.
to make his page load faster ?????
Not sure if the images get loaded while inside the spoilers or not(I think they always get loaded but I've seen other examples).
Why R01? Why? Also, Smasher doe damage?
Yes it does damage, it has blades on axle mounts, so those pop out once it starts spinning.


Tournament History:
Showcases:
https://gametechmods.com/forums/index.php?topic=18882.0
https://gametechmods.com/forums/index.php?topic=19197.0

Offline R01

  • Heavyweight
  • Posts: 771
  • Rep: 1
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: R01's Showcase Thread
« Reply #14 on: April 21, 2016, 03:15:30 PM »
Built a new version of Atomizer, see main post for more:
https://gametechmods.com/forums/index.php?topic=18882.msg699403#msg699403
Tournament History:
Showcases:
https://gametechmods.com/forums/index.php?topic=18882.0
https://gametechmods.com/forums/index.php?topic=19197.0

Offline Joelu Of Eagleland

  • Supreme Dorifuto Warrior; Speed Speed Lover, Game's Not Over
  • Lightweight
  • Posts: 187
  • Rep: 2
    • https://www.facebook.com/
    • Joelu Of Eagleland
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • See profile for gamer tags: Yes
  • Skype: GAS, GAS, GAS!
  • Discord: I'M GONNA STEP ON THE GAS
Re: R01's Showcase Thread
« Reply #15 on: April 21, 2016, 03:32:18 PM »
Built a new version of Atomizer, see main post for more:
https://gametechmods.com/forums/index.php?topic=18882.msg699403#msg699403

Not too sure if that wedge is very effective... usually wedges are best if they're just on a single extender. Wedges become less effective with the more things you put on them.
Does the SnapperII motor fit behind the control board? Like, if you move the control board to, say, above the CO2 tanks, is it possible to then angle it downwards, build the wedge, then change the starting angle of the motor so it goes through the DDT Burst motor? Or is it supposed to be IRL style, with nothing clipping through anything?

Regardless, I really do like the design.

Also, in response to your other question,
3x Burst Piston Flippers(by the way, has anyone else done those before?)
I know Reier made a Middleweight flipper with four bursts. It was called "DONT TREAD ON ME." Other people on the forums have probably made robots with more burst flippers, but considering that I'm still quite new to the forums, I wouldn't be able to tell you with absolute certainty.

(Image taken from the GTPlanet forums (Gran Turismo forums) which I am actually NOT on. I'll join sometime soon, though.)
(You can find me on the Wangan Midnight Expressway forums as well as GTM: http://wmexpressway.net/index.php?showuser=10331)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tournament Stats

Entered:

Fight W/L Record: 4-5
Set W/L Record: 1-2

Offline 090901

  • Forum Anti Anti Anti Bully Ranger!
  • *
  • Posts: 6829
  • Rep: 25
  • :mrgreen:
  • Awards Donated money for hosting 2019 GTMCS2 Divison Winner GTMCS Division Winner
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: R01's Showcase Thread
« Reply #16 on: April 21, 2016, 05:24:56 PM »
he used burst pistons instead of burst motors my dude. i don't think anybody has actually made a flipper like that in stock in the recent years.

the reason why your turnspeed sucks is because when you have the motors placed facing towards each other it makes the turnspeed sh**. just flip them around and it should turn much faster.

Offline Thrackerzod

  • Sparkle up your day!
  • *
  • Posts: 2003
  • Rep: 10
  • The distant future... the year 2000...
  • Awards BOTM Winner
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: R01's Showcase Thread
« Reply #17 on: April 21, 2016, 05:51:08 PM »
Built a new version of Atomizer, see main post for more:
https://gametechmods.com/forums/index.php?topic=18882.msg699403#msg699403

Not too sure if that wedge is very effective... usually wedges are best if they're just on a single extender.

Wedges are fine if they have multiple 20cm extenders, just don't go shoving snowplows and motors and things onto them.

Like 09 said, the further apart the wheels are, the better your bot's turning will be.  Consider flipping the drive motors 180 degrees so the wheels point toward/stick out the sides.

Interesting use of pistons!  Haven't seen that before.

Offline 090901

  • Forum Anti Anti Anti Bully Ranger!
  • *
  • Posts: 6829
  • Rep: 25
  • :mrgreen:
  • Awards Donated money for hosting 2019 GTMCS2 Divison Winner GTMCS Division Winner
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: R01's Showcase Thread
« Reply #18 on: April 21, 2016, 06:14:19 PM »
uh my dude i never said anything about have far the wheels where apart  :dumb)

Offline Thrackerzod

  • Sparkle up your day!
  • *
  • Posts: 2003
  • Rep: 10
  • The distant future... the year 2000...
  • Awards BOTM Winner
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: R01's Showcase Thread
« Reply #19 on: April 21, 2016, 06:23:43 PM »
uh my dude i never said anything about have far the wheels where apart  :dumb)

Whoops, sentence didn't happen like I meant for it to.  I was trying to say something closer to "09 said flip the motors, is good idea".