Author Topic: Post Your RR2 Bots  (Read 4886 times)

Offline FlamesOfIce

  • Antweight
  • Posts: 116
  • Rep: 0
  • Awards BOTM Winner
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Post Your RR2 Bots
« on: September 23, 2018, 09:53:08 AM »
Hey guys, so with the addition of a fully functioning bot lab. I decided to make this thread so people can post their creations so far in RR2.

Note to mods: If you think this shouldn't be here, then feel free to remove it.

Offline Jaydee99

  • Cuckostani General
  • Ultra Heavyweight
  • Posts: 1650
  • Rep: -3
  • This is so sad can we hit 50 likes
    • https://www.facebook.com/
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • See profile for gamer tags: Yes
Re: Post Your RR2 Bots
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2018, 10:28:38 AM »
Why not wait until a full release of RR2?
That annoying guy you've seen that won't go away

Offline FlamesOfIce

  • Antweight
  • Posts: 116
  • Rep: 0
  • Awards BOTM Winner
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Post Your RR2 Bots
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2018, 10:53:25 AM »
Because by then, people will start making showcases. Now I just want there to be a megathread for people to post now.

Offline SagarisRA2

  • Orc's Favourite Son
  • Lightweight
  • Posts: 236
  • Rep: 3
    • https://www.youtube.com/c
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Post Your RR2 Bots
« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2018, 03:18:05 PM »
I could never figure out how to wire any of the motors even when following the instructions. So haven't made anything that works.

Offline Camo5

  • Antweight
  • Posts: 14
  • Rep: 0
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Post Your RR2 Bots
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2019, 12:43:28 AM »
Made a chassis for a 2-motor FBS

the gears don't mesh ;(

How will i get it to spin >.<





« Last Edit: March 29, 2019, 06:13:28 PM by Camo5 »

Offline cjbruce

  • Middleweight
  • Posts: 347
  • Rep: 10
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Post Your RR2 Bots
« Reply #5 on: April 02, 2019, 11:50:01 AM »
Made a chassis for a 2-motor FBS

the gears don't mesh ;(

How will i get it to spin >.<

(Image removed from quote.)

(Image removed from quote.)



(Image removed from quote.)

Looks awesome!  Well done!  I was wondering how to do Bubblegum in the botlab, and I think you nailed it.

Offline Redalert

  • The inventor of Wandering Spinners and invincirammers
  • Ultra Heavyweight
  • Posts: 1339
  • Rep: -46
  • I'll challenge any one of you.
    • View Profile
    • RedStorm's RA2 website
    • Awards
  • Discord: RedStorm
Re: Post Your RR2 Bots
« Reply #6 on: April 02, 2019, 01:02:37 PM »
You make Bubblegum by first making the chassis, and then making a layer-after-layer shell with studded teeth.


Offline CodeSilver23

  • Spinner Entrepreneur and Build Specialist
  • Antweight
  • Posts: 56
  • Rep: 0
  • Let's Represent!!!
    • https://www.youtube.com/c
    • View Profile
    • Youtube Channel
    • Awards
  • Discord: CodeSilverGaming
Re: Post Your RR2 Bots
« Reply #7 on: April 06, 2019, 10:42:38 PM »
I absolutely LOVE this game! I've been making some bots and youtube vids for it because I feel that there just isn't enough people showing off their creations and making this game more well-known. Anyways, I just made these 4 today. The physics in regards to steering is amazing in this game. You can even do the Minotaur celebration!

Hope you all like the bots!
-CodeSilverGaming
 
 
 
 
« Last Edit: April 08, 2019, 04:38:39 PM by CodeSilver23 »

Online Billy5545

  • Best Newcomer 2018
  • Posts: 767
  • Rep: 4
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • See profile for gamer tags: Yes
  • Discord: Kendor#3191
Re: Post Your RR2 Bots
« Reply #8 on: April 07, 2019, 12:36:27 AM »
I absolutely LOVE this game! I've been making some bots and youtube vids for it because I feel that there just isn't enough people showing off their creations and making this game more well-known. Anyways, I just made these 4 today. The physics in regards to steering is amazing in this game. You can even do the Minotaur celebration!

Hope you all like the bots!
-CodeSilverGaming
Nice replicas. Just saying though, but you can insert your attachments to your post, so it will make it more easier to see the pictures

Offline cjbruce

  • Middleweight
  • Posts: 347
  • Rep: 10
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Post Your RR2 Bots
« Reply #9 on: April 07, 2019, 06:49:30 AM »
I could never figure out how to wire any of the motors even when following the instructions. So haven't made anything that works.

Sorry about that!  @tashic is working on motor wiring now.  It is complicated, and taking a while to sort through.

Stuff that should work right now:

1. Attach a couple of AmpFlow motors, one or the left wheel and one for the right wheel.
2. Attach wheels to the motor attachment points.  You will probably need to rotate the view to get the wheels to snap to the axles.
3. Go over a few screens to the "Controls" tab.  Select the motor on the left side of the screen, and click "Left Drive Motor".  Select the motor on the right side of the screen and click "Right Drive Motor".  The game assumes that the forward direction for the robot is forward the rusty green lathe in the back of the room.
4. Click on the game controller icon at the top of the screen to test the controls.
5. Use WASD to drive.

Offline Redalert

  • The inventor of Wandering Spinners and invincirammers
  • Ultra Heavyweight
  • Posts: 1339
  • Rep: -46
  • I'll challenge any one of you.
    • View Profile
    • RedStorm's RA2 website
    • Awards
  • Discord: RedStorm
Re: Post Your RR2 Bots
« Reply #10 on: April 11, 2019, 12:43:36 PM »
I absolutely LOVE this game! I've been making some bots and youtube vids for it because I feel that there just isn't enough people showing off their creations and making this game more well-known. Anyways, I just made these 4 today. The physics in regards to steering is amazing in this game. You can even do the Minotaur celebration!

Hope you all like the bots!
-CodeSilverGaming
  [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]    [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]    [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]    [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

Looking good. Keep it up.


Offline cjbruce

  • Middleweight
  • Posts: 347
  • Rep: 10
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Post Your RR2 Bots
« Reply #11 on: April 11, 2019, 03:07:35 PM »
Hi guys, quite enjoying myself so far, I must say.

Couple of questions about future plans.

- Belted motors, are they happening?
-Circular custom weapons?
-Wiring UI and process being more streamlined? (Which tbh Idk why I'm asking this, you already answered this).
-How soon can we expect creations vs AI fights?

Overall tho, cracking stuff, I've been messing around in the multilayered chassis creation section for hours alone!

Cheers, I'll be posting some creations in the other thread once I get stuff ready <3

1. Belted motors are on the Trello board todo list already.  We are working through servos, linear actuators, and pneumatics first.
2. Circular custom weapons might have to wait for the RR2 Component Modding Tool.  This will allow you to build whatever you want in a 3D program like Blender (free download at www.blender.org), import it into the RR2 Component Modding Tool Unity project (free download at www.unity3d.com), then export it for use in the game.  This workflow will involve additional steps, but will allow you unlimited freedom to create and texture the shapes.  Part of the reason for this is that making convincing-looking 3000 RPM spinners procedurally is kicking my butt, but it should be a much more tractable problem if you use a proper 3D modeling tool like Blender.
3. I'll let @tashic know about the wiring UI! :)
4. In the current Alpha build there should be a default AI assigned to your BotLab robots.  I am frantically trying to get the new in-game AI code editor running.  Its been a beast, but I've worked out most of the bugs and am hoping to put out another Alpha release to the public sometime in the next 2-3 weeks.

I'm glad you like the game, and can't wait to see what you post!

Offline kix

  • Hey boss!
  • *
  • Posts: 2551
  • Rep: 11
  • We need my rep to go higher
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Discord: Username#8552
Re: Post Your RR2 Bots
« Reply #12 on: April 11, 2019, 04:02:32 PM »

Not the best, but still trying to get the hang of it. Im just waiting for the day we get hinges and rams for functional flipper
H
EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

Offline Hoppin

  • E-Girl
  • *
  • Posts: 1801
  • Rep: 11
  • Sket
  • Awards BOTM Winner
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Discord: Hoppin#0013
Re: Post Your RR2 Bots
« Reply #13 on: April 11, 2019, 05:14:14 PM »
Here's what I've been doing.

 

 

 


How to export bots?
Things I did & done

Offline cjbruce

  • Middleweight
  • Posts: 347
  • Rep: 10
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Post Your RR2 Bots
« Reply #14 on: April 11, 2019, 09:43:36 PM »
(Image removed from quote.)
Not the best, but still trying to get the hang of it. Im just waiting for the day we get hinges and rams for functional flipper

Not bad!  Its better than what I have created so far.  I'm looking forward to flippers too.  The prebuilt ones are super-satisfying, and I'm dying to get one built and AI'd.

Offline cjbruce

  • Middleweight
  • Posts: 347
  • Rep: 10
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Post Your RR2 Bots
« Reply #15 on: April 11, 2019, 09:50:16 PM »
Here's what I've been doing.

  [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]  
  [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]  
  [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]  

How to export bots?

Your robot is saved as a [robot name].RR2Bot file.  Depending on if you are using a Windows machine or a Mac, the file is saved in a different location.  Since it is just one file, you should be able to email the whole thing, or post it somewhere online if it is really big.

On a Windows machine it should be the following.  I can't verify this at the moment on my Mac:
C:\Users\username\AppData\Local\Nerd Island Studios LLC⁩\Robot Rumble 2_0\Robots

On my Mac, the file is saved here:
Users⁩ ▸ ⁨[username] ▸ ⁨Library⁩ ▸ ⁨Application Support⁩ ▸ ⁨Nerd Island Studios LLC⁩ ▸ ⁨Robot Rumble 2_0⁩ ▸ ⁨Robots⁩

Here's the reference for where it goes, depending on the platform:

https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Application-persistentDataPath.html

Offline Hoppin

  • E-Girl
  • *
  • Posts: 1801
  • Rep: 11
  • Sket
  • Awards BOTM Winner
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Discord: Hoppin#0013
Re: Post Your RR2 Bots
« Reply #16 on: April 12, 2019, 04:06:16 AM »
Here's what I've been doing.

  [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]  
  [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]  
  [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]  

How to export bots?

Your robot is saved as a [robot name].RR2Bot file.  Depending on if you are using a Windows machine or a Mac, the file is saved in a different location.  Since it is just one file, you should be able to email the whole thing, or post it somewhere online if it is really big.

On a Windows machine it should be the following.  I can't verify this at the moment on my Mac:
C:\Users\username\AppData\Local\Nerd Island Studios LLC⁩\Robot Rumble 2_0\Robots

On my Mac, the file is saved here:
Users⁩ ▸ ⁨[username] ▸ ⁨Library⁩ ▸ ⁨Application Support⁩ ▸ ⁨Nerd Island Studios LLC⁩ ▸ ⁨Robot Rumble 2_0⁩ ▸ ⁨Robots⁩

Here's the reference for where it goes, depending on the platform:

https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Application-persistentDataPath.html

Found mine in LocalLow
Things I did & done

Offline kix

  • Hey boss!
  • *
  • Posts: 2551
  • Rep: 11
  • We need my rep to go higher
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Discord: Username#8552
Re: Post Your RR2 Bots
« Reply #17 on: April 12, 2019, 04:06:24 AM »
Maybe make an exports/imports fooder, and add that function too?
H
EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

Offline kix

  • Hey boss!
  • *
  • Posts: 2551
  • Rep: 11
  • We need my rep to go higher
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Discord: Username#8552
Re: Post Your RR2 Bots
« Reply #18 on: April 12, 2019, 05:48:05 AM »
Didnt think i was gonna do a double post, but oof
H
EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

Offline cjbruce

  • Middleweight
  • Posts: 347
  • Rep: 10
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Post Your RR2 Bots
« Reply #19 on: April 12, 2019, 05:48:56 AM »
Maybe make an exports/imports fooder, and add that function too?

Its simpler than that now.  Any .RR2Bot file that is in the /Robots folder will be loaded by the game automatically.  No need to import or export.