Author Topic: Robot Arena 2 Mac  (Read 11615 times)

Offline JoeBlo

  • *
  • Posts: 14553
  • Reputation: 13
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Robot Arena 2 Mac
« Reply #20 on: June 10, 2016, 12:24:50 AM »
Just wanted to say this is great and I have yet to experience any major issue.

Your welcome :) Glad to see some more Mac users coming out of the woodwork..


However while on the subject of mods I've had trouble implementing my own. I've found the files we're all familiar with in Contents>wineprefix>drive_c>winebottler and I can add stuff to the Components folder just fine, but the game crashes when adding to the AI or Arenas folders (have only messed with those 3 so can't really comment on any other files/folders). Do you know of any other files/folders you have to edit to get it to work properly?

Its happy enough to accept components in testing and edits to the UI...

Im yet to try any AI Packs, yet though.. the main focus has been porting the main games over first.

Let me play a little over the weekend and ill see what result I find

Let me know what specific packs your trying to install too?
14x BOTM Winner - Robot Arena for Mac

Offline xanosz

  • Beetleweight
  • Posts: 175
  • Reputation: 0
  • Yea Boi
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Robot Arena 2 Mac
« Reply #21 on: June 10, 2016, 10:15:13 PM »
However while on the subject of mods I've had trouble implementing my own. I've found the files we're all familiar with in Contents>wineprefix>drive_c>winebottler and I can add stuff to the Components folder just fine, but the game crashes when adding to the AI or Arenas folders (have only messed with those 3 so can't really comment on any other files/folders). Do you know of any other files/folders you have to edit to get it to work properly?

Its happy enough to accept components in testing and edits to the UI...

Im yet to try any AI Packs, yet though.. the main focus has been porting the main games over first.

Let me play a little over the weekend and ill see what result I find

Let me know what specific packs your trying to install too?

I first tried a DSL 2.1 pack with additional AI teams but that failed so I went back to the standard DSL AI thinking it didn't like the change in folder size but that also crashed.

Don't know if this will help with troubleshooting but when changing the Arena folder the game crashes on startup, whereas changing the AI folder only crashes when going to fight an opponent.

Offline JoeBlo

  • *
  • Posts: 14553
  • Reputation: 13
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Robot Arena 2 Mac
« Reply #22 on: June 30, 2016, 11:12:32 AM »
New Updates...

Robot Arena 2 (Stock)
• Much Leaner.. Game its ~250mb smaller then the previous release
• Download now ~160mb, down from previous 400mb
• Now incorporates Core system fonts to prevent any issues
• New Icon because why not

Robot Arena DSL 2
• It exists, Download link in the first post of this thread
• Also running the leaner size, a bit bigger then stock but still much smaller then the original release a month ago

Robot Wars Mod
• Port has been fully done and tested.. another ready to run download
• Download link coming soon.. its pretty hefty in size (similar to the RTR windows version at 1.8Gb) so I just need the time to upload it



In general.. the game still hates AI modifications so ready to run ports are the only option right now until I can solve it.. it will accept everything else but crashes when you mess with the AI
14x BOTM Winner - Robot Arena for Mac

Offline cephalopod

  • *
  • Posts: 7391
  • Reputation: 42
  • Awards HOW MANY SHRIMP DO YOU HAVE TO EAT BEFORE YOUR SKIN TURNS PINK
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Robot Arena 2 Mac
« Reply #23 on: June 30, 2016, 11:24:27 AM »
Just making sure, you're running the patched and expanded version of rwra2 from January right? :)

Offline JoeBlo

  • *
  • Posts: 14553
  • Reputation: 13
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Robot Arena 2 Mac
« Reply #24 on: June 30, 2016, 11:31:38 AM »
The opening splash says "Mod+ Patched" So im going to guess thats the version I need? haha

14x BOTM Winner - Robot Arena for Mac

Offline cephalopod

  • *
  • Posts: 7391
  • Reputation: 42
  • Awards HOW MANY SHRIMP DO YOU HAVE TO EAT BEFORE YOUR SKIN TURNS PINK
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Robot Arena 2 Mac
« Reply #25 on: June 30, 2016, 11:59:58 AM »
Yep all good :D worth checking these things sometimes, hah

Offline frezal

  • His Holiness
  • *
  • Posts: 1275
  • Reputation: 5
  • BLARG!!!
    • https://www.youtube.com/u
    • View Profile
    • Bing Bang Boom TV!
    • Awards
  • See profile for gamer tags: Yes
Re: Robot Arena 2 Mac
« Reply #26 on: July 12, 2016, 11:50:59 PM »
I'm loving the DSL port. I only ever really played the first DSL, so it's interesting to see where it's gone.

Offline JoeBlo

  • *
  • Posts: 14553
  • Reputation: 13
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Robot Arena 2 Mac
« Reply #27 on: July 29, 2016, 07:16:08 AM »
Phew.. Ive had some drama's uploading such a big folder so ive switched over to google drive for this one

Robot Wars RA2 Mod is now available in the first post (1.8gb Approx.)

The next target im thinking of is the old AU Battlebots mod.
14x BOTM Winner - Robot Arena for Mac

Offline R01

  • Heavyweight
  • Posts: 765
  • Reputation: 1
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Robot Arena 2 Mac
« Reply #28 on: July 29, 2016, 10:37:13 AM »
While I don't have a Mac I find this good but I would find it even better if you told people how to do this.
Tournament History:
Showcases:
https://gametechmods.com/forums/index.php?topic=18882.0
https://gametechmods.com/forums/index.php?topic=19197.0

Offline JoeBlo

  • *
  • Posts: 14553
  • Reputation: 13
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Robot Arena 2 Mac
« Reply #29 on: July 29, 2016, 11:48:24 AM »
Wine, Winebottler, Some custom prefix settings and a few extra scripts included from what ive learnt and built off from trial and error.

Its nothing that fancy.. I started playing around with it just so I can play RA2 again.. no sense in keeping the results to myself though. :)
14x BOTM Winner - Robot Arena for Mac

Offline frezal

  • His Holiness
  • *
  • Posts: 1275
  • Reputation: 5
  • BLARG!!!
    • https://www.youtube.com/u
    • View Profile
    • Bing Bang Boom TV!
    • Awards
  • See profile for gamer tags: Yes
Re: Robot Arena 2 Mac
« Reply #30 on: August 02, 2016, 03:53:33 PM »
Phew.. Ive had some drama's uploading such a big folder so ive switched over to google drive for this one

Robot Wars RA2 Mod is now available in the first post (1.8gb Approx.)
Once again, I thank you for your continued efforts!
 

The next target im thinking of is the old AU Battlebots mod.
AWWWW YEAHHHHHHHH!!!!!

Offline JoeBlo

  • *
  • Posts: 14553
  • Reputation: 13
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Robot Arena 2 Mac
« Reply #31 on: October 06, 2016, 09:01:15 AM »
So Ive done the AU Battlebots pack but its having some teething issues.. so in the meantime ive finished off Ironforge which is now in the first post

As always, let me know of any bugs I havent done a whole lot of testing with Ironforge

Next target is a DSL 2.2 patch :)
14x BOTM Winner - Robot Arena for Mac

Offline frezal

  • His Holiness
  • *
  • Posts: 1275
  • Reputation: 5
  • BLARG!!!
    • https://www.youtube.com/u
    • View Profile
    • Bing Bang Boom TV!
    • Awards
  • See profile for gamer tags: Yes
Re: Robot Arena 2 Mac
« Reply #32 on: October 10, 2016, 04:46:14 PM »
So Ive done the AU Battlebots pack but its having some teething issues.. so in the meantime ive finished off Ironforge which is now in the first post

As always, let me know of any bugs I havent done a whole lot of testing with Ironforge

Next target is a DSL 2.2 patch :)
Yay, now I can finally see what this Ironforge nonsense is all about.


EDIT: With the AU Battlebots pack, will it include the AI parts? I remember it being next to impossible to fight stock against their super powered components.

Offline JoeBlo

  • *
  • Posts: 14553
  • Reputation: 13
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Robot Arena 2 Mac
« Reply #33 on: October 11, 2016, 12:35:01 AM »
I was planning on dropping all the AI robots into the robot designs folder too so you can play replica v replica

If you did want to use the AI parts, just use Cheatbot2 but (if I recall correctly) a lot of the AU parts were BFE'd on and dont actually have proper attachment points.
14x BOTM Winner - Robot Arena for Mac

Offline Bird

  • Antweight
  • Posts: 2
  • Reputation: 0
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Robot Arena 2 Mac
« Reply #34 on: April 17, 2017, 05:17:08 AM »
Great job - I remember playing this years ago!

Downloaded it today hoping to give it a go but just opens and automatically closes. I'm presuming this is because I'm running Sierra rather than Yosemite? If so, any plans to get it to run on Sierra?

Offline toAst

  • *
  • Posts: 909
  • Reputation: 5
  • this one goes out to all of my babies mamas
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Skype: besttoaster
Re: Robot Arena 2 Mac
« Reply #35 on: April 18, 2017, 05:22:08 PM »
oh man i was asking for this years ago thank you you beautiful beast you
-------------------------------
who love to party

Offline JoeBlo

  • *
  • Posts: 14553
  • Reputation: 13
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Robot Arena 2 Mac
« Reply #36 on: April 18, 2017, 10:09:04 PM »
Downloaded it today hoping to give it a go but just opens and automatically closes. I'm presuming this is because I'm running Sierra rather than Yosemite? If so, any plans to get it to run on Sierra?

Hmm Ill have to look into it, It should support up to El Capitan at present, I am yet to update any of my Macs to Sierra so I dont have any test subjects at present to work on it

Does it do it at every launch attempt? It may search for some Wine plugin updates on your first ever launch (sometimes the app name above the icon in the dock says "Wine" as opposed to "Robot Arena 2" when its doing its setup related things)

Edit: Also just to double check, needs to be the admin account with full permissions too

Edit 2: Possibly have the app on the harddrive too, not on external usb's etc

oh man i was asking for this years ago thank you you beautiful beast you

Very welcome :)
14x BOTM Winner - Robot Arena for Mac

Offline Bird

  • Antweight
  • Posts: 2
  • Reputation: 0
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Robot Arena 2 Mac
« Reply #37 on: April 20, 2017, 11:28:56 AM »
Downloaded it today hoping to give it a go but just opens and automatically closes. I'm presuming this is because I'm running Sierra rather than Yosemite? If so, any plans to get it to run on Sierra?

Hmm Ill have to look into it, It should support up to El Capitan at present, I am yet to update any of my Macs to Sierra so I dont have any test subjects at present to work on it

Does it do it at every launch attempt? It may search for some Wine plugin updates on your first ever launch (sometimes the app name above the icon in the dock says "Wine" as opposed to "Robot Arena 2" when its doing its setup related things)

Edit: Also just to double check, needs to be the admin account with full permissions too

Edit 2: Possibly have the app on the harddrive too, not on external usb's etc

Yeah it does it every launch I'm afraid. I'm set as admin with full permissions and files are on the hard drive (Robot Arena 2 and Robot Arena 2 DSL are situated on my desktop)

Offline Fnaf Guy

  • New Member
  • Posts: 1
  • Reputation: 0
    • Samer Almasraf
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • See profile for gamer tags: Yes
  • Discord: fnafguy21
Re: Robot Arena 2 Mac
« Reply #38 on: December 06, 2018, 12:54:21 PM »
Could you try to update dsl from 2.1 to 2.2 complete edition.

Offline FightingBotInformal

  • Still fails to exist
  • Heavyweight
  • Posts: 450
  • Reputation: -1
  • What's in the bowl, milk? Wheaties or Cheerios?
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Robot Arena 2 Mac
« Reply #39 on: December 06, 2018, 02:02:59 PM »
Could you try to update dsl from 2.1 to 2.2 complete edition.
please look at the dates between the last post and your post next time