Author Topic: Battlebox arena fix  (Read 5074 times)

Offline Clickbeetle

  • *
  • Posts: 3375
  • Rep: 21
  • In Soviet Russia, bugs stomp YOU!
  • Awards BOTM Winner
    • View Profile
    • Beetle Bros site
    • Awards
Battlebox arena fix
« on: May 04, 2014, 08:53:10 PM »
With Battlebots 9 coming up (and me with two bots in it), I thought I would finally wade into the morass that is the Battlebox 2.0 files and try to fix some issues.

Here are the fruits of my labor:  http://beetlebros.gametechmods.com/files/BATTLEBOX_2_0.zip

This is the complete arena, so just unzip in your Arenas folder and you're good to go.  If you already have the Battlebox, overwrite everything it asks.

What I did:

- Added collision lines and POVs for the walls and hazards.  AI will not blindly drive over hazards (usually), and bots stuck on the entry ramps will not try to drive through the wall to get out.  Rammers won't back into the walls.

- Made the killsaws less powerful so they don't explode quite as often.  They're still not perfect, but I think they're a little better.

- VASTLY improved the pulverizer behavior.  They actually go up and down like a normal hammer now.  Not like some hammer that thinks it's a Razer claw.

- Made the hazards actually do damage.  Not much--a pittance, really--but hazards that don't do ANY damage are just lame.

- Added start points so the Battlebox now supports 4 bots at once.

-WARNING FOR MASSIMOV-

I did not disable the Hellraisers.  That bit of code will have to be re-implemented for BB9.
« Last Edit: May 05, 2014, 01:54:20 AM by Clickbeetle »

To lack feeling is to be dead, but to act on every feeling is to be a child.
-Brandon Sanderson, The Way of Kings

Offline Mr. AS

  • TheGloriousCarbideArstotzkanIronsideChaosProtocol
  • *
  • Posts: 7557
  • Rep: 19
    • robotarenagtm
  • Awards BOTM Winner
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Battlebox .py fix
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2014, 09:09:14 PM »
If you want the hazards to do more damage, why not just jack up their metal value by a few increments?
How you make Alarm Clock Pizza is:
Step 1: You buy an alarm clock from the store, and then you have to break it and put it in the sauce.
Step 2: Fold the sauce in 5 slices and put it in the dough.
Step 3: Paint the eggs with a pitcher of a clock showing what time you want to wake up and eat pizza for breakfast.
Step 4: Put the eggs in the dough.
Step 5: Make it flat into a round shape and draw the time you want on it.
Step 6: Put some old steel to prevent other peple from stealing it.
Step 7: Make it flat and cut into 60 slices 1 for each minute in 1 our.
Step 8: Put in the oven set the timer to 30048813.2884 seconds and put the temperature on 'Volcano' setting.
Step 9: If you think it is take to long, then get yor alarm clock and set it to now so that it will ring and you can take it out.
Step 10: Take it out uv the uvin wen it is redy and go to bed. In the morning eat pizza and also eat yor hands bi mistake.

Offline Clickbeetle

  • *
  • Posts: 3375
  • Rep: 21
  • In Soviet Russia, bugs stomp YOU!
  • Awards BOTM Winner
    • View Profile
    • Beetle Bros site
    • Awards
Re: Battlebox .py fix
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2014, 09:11:18 PM »
That's what I did.

Or rather, I added a metal value of 0.5.  None of them had one before.  Two of the hammers had code for it, but they referenced the wrong object in the gmf.

To lack feeling is to be dead, but to act on every feeling is to be a child.
-Brandon Sanderson, The Way of Kings

Offline Mr. AS

  • TheGloriousCarbideArstotzkanIronsideChaosProtocol
  • *
  • Posts: 7557
  • Rep: 19
    • robotarenagtm
  • Awards BOTM Winner
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Battlebox .py fix
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2014, 09:18:20 PM »
So there's nothing preventing me (or MassimoV) from just changing that 0.5 value to 9 billion? (That's an exaggeration, but you know what I mean.)
How you make Alarm Clock Pizza is:
Step 1: You buy an alarm clock from the store, and then you have to break it and put it in the sauce.
Step 2: Fold the sauce in 5 slices and put it in the dough.
Step 3: Paint the eggs with a pitcher of a clock showing what time you want to wake up and eat pizza for breakfast.
Step 4: Put the eggs in the dough.
Step 5: Make it flat into a round shape and draw the time you want on it.
Step 6: Put some old steel to prevent other peple from stealing it.
Step 7: Make it flat and cut into 60 slices 1 for each minute in 1 our.
Step 8: Put in the oven set the timer to 30048813.2884 seconds and put the temperature on 'Volcano' setting.
Step 9: If you think it is take to long, then get yor alarm clock and set it to now so that it will ring and you can take it out.
Step 10: Take it out uv the uvin wen it is redy and go to bed. In the morning eat pizza and also eat yor hands bi mistake.

Offline Clickbeetle

  • *
  • Posts: 3375
  • Rep: 21
  • In Soviet Russia, bugs stomp YOU!
  • Awards BOTM Winner
    • View Profile
    • Beetle Bros site
    • Awards
Re: Battlebox .py fix
« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2014, 09:36:14 PM »
Yeah, if you really want one-hit-kill hazards, that's your decision as tournament host.  You can also change it back so they do no damage if you want.  All I'm doing is fixing some major problems in the code.  (Try out the new pulverizers; I think you'll be pleased.)

To lack feeling is to be dead, but to act on every feeling is to be a child.
-Brandon Sanderson, The Way of Kings

Offline MassimoV

  • I Move Weight
  • *
  • Posts: 8929
  • Rep: 24
  • I make rap for people of Serbia
    • MassimoVTV
  • Awards BOTM Winner
    • View Profile
    • Mourning Glory
    • Awards
  • See profile for gamer tags: Yes
  • Skype: myhandsarefood
Re: Battlebox .py fix
« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2014, 09:43:31 PM »
I recieved this code to deactivate the hellraisers along time ago from Classicus.

#Hellraiser stuff
            hinge = self.GetHinge("Hinge01")
            self.RegisterZone("hellzone1", 0)
            self.Hell1 = Hazards2.HellRaiser(hinge, (3.034, 0.0, -6.926))
            self.AddHazard(self.Hell1)
           
            hinge = self.GetHinge("Hinge02")
            self.RegisterZone("hellzone2", 0)
            self.Hell2 = Hazards2.HellRaiser(hinge, (-3.049, 0.0, -6.926))
            self.AddHazard(self.Hell2)

If some one wants to check and make sure that this works for the new arena before I go and try it out, that would be great. Also, THANK YOU CLICK!!!

Offline Badnik96

  • tired of your shit
  • *
  • Posts: 17537
  • Rep: 3
    • Badnik96GTM
  • Awards BOTM Winner
    • View Profile
    • BattleBots Wiki
    • Awards
  • See profile for gamer tags: Yes
  • Skype: Badnik96
Re: Battlebox .py fix
« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2014, 09:49:55 PM »
Oh my god yes. Click this is amazing.

Offline helloface

  • Posts: 3884
  • Rep: -11
  • 090901's cumslave
    • https://www.youtube.com/c
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • See profile for gamer tags: Yes
  • Skype: helloface199
  • Discord: Helloface#2112
Re: Battlebox .py fix
« Reply #7 on: May 04, 2014, 10:02:58 PM »
So much yes. Any chance you could allow four robots at a time?
Oh I'll be doing some banging.......

Offline Wolfsbane

  • Heavyweight
  • Posts: 583
  • Rep: -5
  • Pokemens.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • See profile for gamer tags: Yes
  • Skype: suicideladder
Re: Battlebox .py fix
« Reply #8 on: May 04, 2014, 10:05:40 PM »
So much yes. Any chance you could allow four robots at a time?

According to a glitch found (IDR who found it) The positions for bots 3 and 4 are in nowhere. Changing that would require editing the .gmf i believe. Feel free to correct me.
Man this needed an update. Anyways, Your local autistic idiot signing out.

Offline Clickbeetle

  • *
  • Posts: 3375
  • Rep: 21
  • In Soviet Russia, bugs stomp YOU!
  • Awards BOTM Winner
    • View Profile
    • Beetle Bros site
    • Awards
Re: Battlebox .py fix
« Reply #9 on: May 04, 2014, 10:07:20 PM »
I recieved this code to deactivate the hellraisers along time ago from Classicus.

#Hellraiser stuff
            hinge = self.GetHinge("Hinge01")
            self.RegisterZone("hellzone1", 0)
            self.Hell1 = Hazards2.HellRaiser(hinge, (3.034, 0.0, -6.926))
            self.AddHazard(self.Hell1)
           
            hinge = self.GetHinge("Hinge02")
            self.RegisterZone("hellzone2", 0)
            self.Hell2 = Hazards2.HellRaiser(hinge, (-3.049, 0.0, -6.926))
            self.AddHazard(self.Hell2)

If some one wants to check and make sure that this works for the new arena before I go and try it out, that would be great. Also, THANK YOU CLICK!!!

That's kind of an inelegant way to do it, but yes, it works.

So much yes. Any chance you could allow four robots at a time?

Maybe.  I haven't tried editing the gmf and I'm not sure if doing so would mess it up.  If this is a thing people need, I'll see what I can do.

To lack feeling is to be dead, but to act on every feeling is to be a child.
-Brandon Sanderson, The Way of Kings

Offline 090901

  • alcoholic in denial
  • *
  • Posts: 7005
  • Rep: 22
  • :mrgreen:
  • Awards Donated money for site hosting 2019 GTMCS2 Divison Winner GTMCS Division Winner
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Battlebox .py fix
« Reply #10 on: May 04, 2014, 10:09:07 PM »
So much yes. Any chance you could allow four robots at a time?

Maybe.  I haven't tried editing the gmf and I'm not sure if doing so would mess it up.  If this is a thing people need, I'll see what I can do.
I did once make a 4 player battlebox before, however the rails around the arena kept turning cyan blue  :dumb)

Offline Clickbeetle

  • *
  • Posts: 3375
  • Rep: 21
  • In Soviet Russia, bugs stomp YOU!
  • Awards BOTM Winner
    • View Profile
    • Beetle Bros site
    • Awards
Re: Battlebox .py fix
« Reply #11 on: May 04, 2014, 10:10:45 PM »
AAARGH I derped people.

I forgot to add POVs.

What this means is that the AI navigation around hazards won't work.  I thought there was something wrong, but that the bots just needed a bigger radius.  Now I know.

Give me a moment to do a quick update.

To lack feeling is to be dead, but to act on every feeling is to be a child.
-Brandon Sanderson, The Way of Kings

Offline HurricaneAndrew

  • Ultra Heavyweight
  • Posts: 4235
  • Rep: -13
  • Admon is not pleased with your shenanigans.
    • HurricaneAndrew92
    • HurricaneAndrewGTM
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Skype: hurricaneandrew92
Re: Battlebox .py fix
« Reply #12 on: May 04, 2014, 10:11:08 PM »
So much yes. Any chance you could allow four robots at a time?

According to a glitch found (IDR who found it) The positions for bots 3 and 4 are in nowhere. Changing that would require editing the .gmf i believe. Feel free to correct me.

Seems like I remember this as well.

#BlackNamesMatter  |  #HurricaneAndrewDidNothingWrong  |  #DemodNaryar  |  #OldfagAlliance

Offline Clickbeetle

  • *
  • Posts: 3375
  • Rep: 21
  • In Soviet Russia, bugs stomp YOU!
  • Awards BOTM Winner
    • View Profile
    • Beetle Bros site
    • Awards
Re: Battlebox .py fix
« Reply #13 on: May 05, 2014, 01:50:13 AM »
All right I fixed it.  POVs are added.  Bots still drive over hazards sometimes, but they're a little better about it.

I also edited the gmf so it supports 4 bots.

The reason this update turned out not so quick was because I was messing around in the gmf, trying to further stabilize the killsaws.  No such luck.  I'll just call it done now and be happy that it's better than it was.

To lack feeling is to be dead, but to act on every feeling is to be a child.
-Brandon Sanderson, The Way of Kings

Offline thesnowingsteak

  • Middleweight
  • Posts: 284
  • Rep: -1
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • See profile for gamer tags: Yes
Re: Battlebox arena fix
« Reply #14 on: May 05, 2014, 02:02:52 AM »
Those weren't my issue mine was the camera angle because I have unluckily window 8 and I can't change the camera angles.
The art of insanity is the very core of art itself.

Offline Thyrus

  • *
  • Posts: 6218
  • Rep: 19
  • Back to purple '17
    • http://www.youtube.com/Th
  • Awards BOTM Winner
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Battlebox arena fix
« Reply #15 on: May 05, 2014, 02:11:34 AM »
thanks alot for this!

could it be the way the killsaws are attached that causes the havok? By pressin f12 you can see they kinda work like hammers through the ground unlike the saws in the combat arena wich just seem to move in a vertical direction. but they are just static components from what i can tel

somewhere i read about bots that have spinmotors attached to bursts are more likely to havok when the direction of the burst movement is the same as the spinning object. changing the axle of the "burst" of the killsaws could also reduce the likliness of a havokexplosion but the saws would't come out the ground at the same time anymore if thats true.

otherwise the killsaws could be replaced by the kind of saw we have in the combat arena. but they are too small i think so theire gmf needed to be changed i guess.

but i know nothing about gmf editing so thats just my thoughts on this.

Offline Shield

  • The question isn't who will let me.
  • Ultra Heavyweight
  • Posts: 2196
  • Rep: 8
  • It's who will stop me.
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Battlebox .py fix
« Reply #16 on: May 05, 2014, 03:43:12 AM »
All right I fixed it.  POVs are added.  Bots still drive over hazards sometimes, but they're a little better about it.

I also edited the gmf so it supports 4 bots.

The reason this update turned out not so quick was because I was messing around in the gmf, trying to further stabilize the killsaws.  No such luck.  I'll just call it done now and be happy that it's better than it was.

Multibots for BB10 yay
beep beep

Offline RedAce

  • Host of The Award Winning Deathmatch Series
  • *
  • Posts: 3966
  • Rep: 21
  • Yep, I'm that RedAce guy.
  • Awards BOTM Winner
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • See profile for gamer tags: Yes
  • Skype: redaceofsp4des
  • Discord: ThatRedAceGuy#3618
Re: Battlebox arena fix
« Reply #17 on: May 05, 2014, 04:55:11 AM »
This is great Click! Thank you so much for this. I like the remade pulverizers and the added POVs to fix certain issues. And the ability to add 3-4 bots in the arena? Awesome. One question: Is there a possible way to have the bots start at a lower point instead of how high it is right now?
« Last Edit: September 08, 2015, 09:55:48 AM by RedAce »

Offline Jakewilliamson

  • Founder of Yugioh Robotics
  • Middleweight
  • Posts: 290
  • Rep: 0
  • Fully Charged!
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Re: Battlebox arena fix
« Reply #18 on: May 05, 2014, 07:13:41 AM »
I cant believe this after all this work from click, dang click your awesome! :claping

Offline Badnik96

  • tired of your shit
  • *
  • Posts: 17537
  • Rep: 3
    • Badnik96GTM
  • Awards BOTM Winner
    • View Profile
    • BattleBots Wiki
    • Awards
  • See profile for gamer tags: Yes
  • Skype: Badnik96
Re: Battlebox arena fix
« Reply #19 on: May 05, 2014, 08:06:23 AM »
Those weren't my issue mine was the camera angle because I have unluckily window 8 and I can't change the camera angles.

I'm running windows 8 and I can change camera angles just fine. Do you have f1-f12 keys on your computer?