Author Topic: My first attempt (Well, 3rd... if we count re-designs.) at a "legal" bot.  (Read 1060 times)

Offline ThermalLance89

• Antweight
  • Rep: 0
    • View Profile
    • Awards
From a complete noob, let me introduce you to Junkyard Vampire III!

Class: Middleweight (398,8) Note: I really used all the possible weight for a medium didn't I? XD

Features Notes:
- I encased the wheels when I notice they came off way too easily against spinners and pokers. These are alluminum and can tank a few direct hits at least. Unless I get HAMMERED by some crazy bot that is. XD

- The small carbon fiber bar on the back ain't only there for style. It's to reduce the likelyhood of the bot to get stuck upright. Still can happen but that bar minimizes the risks.

- No, the disc dosen't touch anything. It runs over the RC unit and, while it comes to an hair close, it dosen't touch the electric motor.

Mistakes:
- The one mistake I did is that the top shaft of the disc sticks a little bit out of the bot. Like, a small bit. I do not think that would kick me out of every competition given it ain't exactly an impossibility but I couldn't fix it without having to do it all over again thanks to how building works unfortunately.
« Last Edit: November 22, 2022, 11:04:32 PM by ThermalLance89 »

Offline TheRoboteer

• Mr Big Blue Flipper
  • Rep: 9
  • "I HATE SEBASTIAN COE!"
  • Awards Donated money for site hosting 2021
    • View Profile
    • Awards
  • Discord: TheRoboteer#8784
Re: My first attempt (Well, 3rd... if we count re-designs.) at a "legal" bot.
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2022, 03:41:08 AM »
Not a bad looking first bot at all.

In terms of potential improvements you could make, the reinforced version of the perm isn't really necessary here, as your chassis already supports the weapon (making this legal for the most common tournament ruleset, btw). Swapping to just a regular belted perm will save you a fair bit of weight you can spend elsewhere.