Author Topic: Wheels/axles wobble and "shake", extremely annoying  (Read 2338 times)

Offline idiotekque

• Antweight
  • Rep: 0
    • View Profile
    • Awards
Wheels/axles wobble and "shake", extremely annoying
« on: July 26, 2016, 08:41:43 PM »
I'm relatively new to the game, and almost no matter what I make, I run into this issue where the bot just... doesn't sit right on its wheels.

I've made sure that everything is on the same level, I've made sure that the chassis isn't scraping against the ground, but regardless of what I do, it's like the wheels and the ground don't want to sit against each other. I go up against the AI and they seem to have no problems. They have speed, traction, control, etc. Yet unless I make the make the most basic of chassis shapes, this happens every time.

I know it's kind of a vague explanation, but honestly, I don't know how else to explain it, and if this is just how the game is, I'm probably just going to give up. I can throw the beefiest motors on and the bot still just doesn't drive right, has very little traction, and just constantly shakes like it's on marbles all the time. It's unbelievably frustrating when every design does this.

For example, here's the latest bot I made. It's a mess, but I was just playing around with an idea. Honestly it DOES work, but... again, it just "shakes" in place, has no traction and can be pushed by any other bot with ease, etc. I don't get it, because as you can see in the second pic, it has good tires, good motors (the rear one is the full power steering unit), etc, and it has ample clearance from the ground. Granted it's real heavy, so I would expect it to be slow, but that should NOT remove traction and make it jitter around like it's not quite on the ground. It's so confusing.

I'm playing DSL with the component limits/weight mod as well, but that's it. Is there a way to fix this strange shaky wheel problem? Or is that just... kinda how the game is?